Brain Surgery Tonight

What a weekend. Friday night at the Blue Jays home opener courtesy of my son. Saturday morning a trip to the local hospital, also with my son, with a bad headache. I’m kept. Saturday dinnertime I’m shipped to Toronto Western. Sunday at 1:30 in the morning I’m having brain surgery. I slipped roller skating eight weeks prior and had bleeding on the brain along with blood clots. Surgeons don’t operate at 1:30a.m. on a Sunday unless it’s an emergency. Today, Easter, is three weeks from the surgery. I’m am blessed. I was told by several people I should have been stroked and could have possibly died. Going up and down four times in an airliner just isn’t good for this condition.

So why the picture of Sharon and in our kitchen no less. This is the girl I married and this is where I know her. At home. Sharon has been so faithful, so dependable over the years. Yes, we’ve had our ups and downs in the marriage, who hasn’t, but she is the love of my life. I am so blessed to ¬†have lived my life with her. She’s a wonderful person.

I am also blessed knowing Jesus Christ as my saviour. While I expected to survive the operation the brain is a funny thing. If things go bad during a cataract operation you lose an eye. No second chance with the brain. Knowing Jesus gave me the courage to face the operation (I was awake for it all!) and the possibility of death. And today is His day! Our hope for eternity with God is based on His dying for our sins and our acceptance of Him as our Lord and Saviour. I am blessed.

I won’t know if I’m out of the woods for a couple of weeks but I think I’m going to be alright. The recovery is much slower than I had anticipated. I have good days and bad days. I’m very glad to be alive. I have yet to have a day without pain killers but I hope to soon. I just haven’t been “in the mood” to post as you could well imagine. Yep. Good to be alive.

About Chris Sorlie

The kids are gone and I'm shooting pictures of all sorts of good things.
This entry was posted in Brain surgery, Happy Easter, Photography, surgery. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

