Winter Lake

It’s that time of year again when things start to freeze up. I guess with the strange weather this might be our second freeze up! I’d like to tell you this is Pickle Lake in the north but it’s really Kempenfelt Bay in Barrie, Ontario. Shot with a Canon 60D.

About Chris Sorlie

The kids are gone and I'm shooting pictures of all sorts of good things.
This entry was posted in Canon 60D, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Winter Lake

  1. aperturealan says:

    Chris, I like the picture but I’m thinking it should maybe be a bit brighter? Either way, that looks like a substantial bit of ice. We’re still in freeze mode in Scotland. How do you like the 60D? A bit of a monster compared to the EPL1!

  2. Chris Sorlie says:

    Yeah, I took the E-Pl1 back because I couldn’t see in the bright sunshine with a viewfinder and Olympus wants $280.00 for one. With the viewfinder and the kit lens extended to take pictures, the combination was almost the same size as an slr and the cost was getting very close as well. I’m hoping for an Olympus that looks like the Panasonic G2 with 2 dials on the body. My son’s 60D is very nice. The more I use it, the more I like it. Canon’s primes are pricy and I don’t like the weight. Actually the image quality from the Panasonic Fz35 has been pretty good overall although the images are a bit cool. For some reason I’m not all that keen using the actual camera.
    The picture could have been brighter but it really was a gloomy day. The camera captured it pretty well and I just left it in.
    Thanks for touching base!

    • aperturealan says:

      I understand the bright sunshine issue – I have that myself with the GF1 but it’s never been bad enough to make me buy the viewfinder which, according to reviews, is rather poor quality and definitely not good value for money.

      I’m sure the 60D is a great camera but (having owned a 50D and 20D before that) there’s no way I could go back to using a camera that size and weight. If I were in the market for a camera with built in viewfinder, I’d most likely go for the Panasonic G2 – the single control dial is the same as the GF1 and I find it works really well with the simple press of the dial to change the mode. If I had the money, I’d buy one, but I wouldn’t swap the GF1 for it.

      However, I’d be surprised if Olympus don’t produce a M4/3s camera with built in viewfinder at some point in the future.

Leave a Reply

