A New Camera

Nobody does colour like Olympus. My first shot with my new Olympus E-PL1. No post processing. Straight from the camera using the 14 – 42 kit lens.

I have wanted an S.L.R. for some time. My son is a professional photographer so I have been lucky enough to play with some very high end cameras and lenses. He has over $20,000 invested in enough gear to fill up his hatchback. I nearly bought a Canon 60 with a Zeiss 35mm lens. They were beautiful. Were the expense to stop there I think I would taken the plunge. I would like to shoot with primes which would mean two more Zeiss lenses (another two grand!) and, while primes are great, you really need a wide angle three to five times zoom for hanging around with your camera when the unexpected occurs and you haven’t got time to slap on the right prime. Even at this I could see starting “the collection” and increasing the added pieces over time. Something to work for.

The money I could work with. The weight was another issue. I want the camera for travel and carrying a fifteen pound bag full of expensive camera gear and the associated concern with it’s whereabouts at all times just doesn’t work for me. So after a ton of research I ended up with an Olympus E-PL1.

Gary Dennes (http://garydenness.co.uk/) and Kirk Tuck
(http://visualsciencelab.blogspot.com/2010/03/quick-report-on-olympus-epl.html) were both very influential in my decision to go with Olympus. I’m not sure how to attach these links on WordPress but both are worth a cut and paste. Thanks guys!
More pics to follow!

About Chris Sorlie

The kids are gone and I'm shooting pictures of all sorts of good things.
This entry was posted in Canon 60D, E-Pl1, Henry's Camera, Olympus, Olympus E-PL1, Olympus Epl1, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A New Camera

  1. garydenness says:

    Congratulations amigo! It goes without saying, being the very happy owner of an E-PL1, that I think you’re going to have a ton of fun with it!

    And a nice first shot too. I have found that macro shooting with the kit lens is a little harder work than other cameras I’ve used, when in Auto. It doesn’t always like to autofocus if you get too close. Using manual focus though, and by spending a few more seconds, and it does a fantastic job.

    We chatted briefly about themes the other day – I really think you ought to go for one that has a bit more post width. When I first looked at the flower, I thought ‘nice shot’. When I clicked on it and saw the larger version, it really popped out so much more.

    Of course, there’s no theme that will show it as large as it can be seen by clicking on it, but the extra 130 pixels that the Twenty Ten theme, for example, gives you does makes a world of difference.

    I look forward to seeing how you get on with it! Did you sell the FZ35, or keep it for other occasions?

  2. Chris Sorlie says:

    Thanks Gary!
    If you can let me know what your next camera is going to be I will start saving for it! (Just kidding!) Yeah, so far it’s been great. Actually I tried the Twenty Ten theme. Because I imputed all my pictures in the smaller format they didn’t change. I started changing the pictures but after four I said nuts to this, it will take forever to go through the site. I guess I could trash the other photos or start another. You are quite right the pics did look better. I guess now that I have a new camera I could start again! There are a few things I would like to try. WordPress org instead of com. It involves more.
    Very impressed with how busy you are with your site. I think I need to email you!
    Kept the Fz35 as it’s great for daytime travel photography. I really got the E-PL1 as an Lx3 replacement. We’re going to St Thomas in the Caribbean in a few weeks. Very cheap place to buy camera stuff. I was going to buy my camera there too but I didn’t think I would save a whole lot and a Canadian warranty is probably a better idea. I hope to get the Panasonic 20mm 1.7. They want $500. Cdn. here for it. Will keep you advised.

    • garydenness says:

      Hehe! I think I’ll be sticking with my Olympus for some time to come!

      I know what you mean about the photos of posts of yore. I had the same problem. Small sized photos, and I didn’t used to ‘justify’ align the text which I do now.

      http://bit.ly/bXUJCm

      But I decided that I wouldn’t let old posts limit what I could do with new posts, so made the change. I do still have in mind to one day, when I have loads of spare time, to go through all my old posts realigning the text, removing old bits of script and recategorizing the Categories. One day…!

      I regularly consider .Org. There is more you can do with the self hosted option. But I always baulk at paying for something that you can get for free. .Com does have some limitations, but most of the time I think that’s a good thing – you focus on blogging and not on playing around, tinkering with unnecessary blog bling!

      The f1.7 20mm pancake is also just the lens I want next! Along with a direct 14-42mm replacement for the kit lens, with some faster glass. And one day, when I’m feeling rich, a nice zoom lens.

      I must be patient….

  3. Pingback: The Influencer | The Mexile

Leave a Reply

