Police Training

This is a whole new aspect of motorcycling to me. I have never really considered the need for this sort of training although it makes perfect sense. The only thing I missed were the BMW’s. Three were in attendance from the Montreal Police Force. Everyone else rode Harleys. I think there are a lot of reasons for the preference of Harley Davidson that go beyond performance and rider safety.

I was constantly impressed with the warmth and willingness of the police officers to discuss the challenges of police work from a motorcycle. They say you know you’re old when policemen and hockey players look like kids. I guess I’m there. I will need to research the safety issue in greater depth. These “kids” deserve any break they can get in terms of safer bikes to operate. Perhaps there is more to this than meets the eye!

Good to see women taking part in the training exercises. The bike is going over a “see saw” sort of obstacle obviously to test balance and I guess unfamiliar sensations.

About Chris Sorlie

The kids are gone and I'm shooting pictures of all sorts of good things.
This entry was posted in Photography, Police, Police bikes, Police motorcycles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

