My Dog Died Today

Alley died of a heard attack. A tumor on the heart broke causing internal bleeding. She let out a long painful yell unlike any I have ever heard before. I ran up stairs and she seemed asleep. Thinking she had a bad dream I woke her. She was confused so I took her out to the back yard. She lay down in her favorite spot and put her head down. I knew we were in trouble. I started to cry. In between my tears I called Sharon and asked her to come home.  Alley was breathing heavily but she never took her eyes from me. I just patted her and told her how much I loved her and how good she was. An hour later it was over.

I’m still crying. I lost a faithful friend today. I shall miss here dearly.

About Chris Sorlie

The kids are gone and I'm shooting pictures of all sorts of good things.
This entry was posted in death and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My Dog Died Today

  1. Donna says:

    Chris I am soo sorry for your loss…I know how much you loved “Puppy”!! Those are great photo’s of Alley…she was a beautiful girl. So “woof woof woof woof”…means “thanks for everything daddy”. Always remember you gave her a wonderful life and she loved you as much as you loved her.

  2. garydenness says:

    Sorry to hear that bud. My sympathies.

  3. epicswife says:

    I am so sorry to hear this! I have two dogs that are getting older, and both of them had to have surgery this last month – even being without them one day and having to worry if they would wake up was devastating for me! My thoughts are with you! Try to remember all the good things you did together! Dogs never seem to remember the bad times !!

  4. epicswife says:

    Your very welcome!! Yes, both of them came thorough it OK – but just putting them under because they are older was a concern! Yea it was over $1000 dollars in less than two weeks to do both of them, one had a mole on his eye and the other had a tumor inside his eyelid. It was pretty stressful. Again I am sorry , I know words don’t help, but I do understand your loss.

  5. Paul Arends says:

    Hey Chris, wonderful words, great pictures, we sure know how you feel and even now when I think of our old “Simmer” who died last year, it brings a tear to my eye, we will forever remember them as dear, good friends, always faithful right to the end.
    Keep breathing, take one day at a time.
    Paul

    • meandmycanon says:

      I’ve suffered emotional pain a few times in my life and thoughts of “keep breathing” were always a part of the ordeal.
      Each day is a little better. Thanks Paul, for sharing my pain.

  6. sorrentolens says:

    Oh… I love my dog so much. I know what you were feeling. I know someday I’ll have to face the same situation with my Sadie.

    Take care. Please find another dog to love.

    • meandmycanon says:

      Thanks for your kind words. How old is Sadie and what kind of dog is she?
      Dogs are special. It will take some time. I can see getting another dog. Time will tell!

      Chris

Leave a Reply

